Rose Parade Updates


PASADENA, Calif. (Jan. 21, 2016) - In a ceremony this evening, the Pasadena Tournament of Roses® Board of Directors confirmed Brad Ratliff as president for the 2016-2017 Tournament year. Ratliff will provide leadership for the 128th Rose Parade® presented by Honda and the 103rd Rose Bowl Game® presented by Northwestern Mutual on Monday, January 2, 2017.

Ratliff announced “Echoes of Success” as the theme for the 128th Rose Parade.

Find out more...


PASADENA, Calif. (Jan. 21, 2016) - This evening, 2017 Tournament of Roses President Brad Ratliff announced the leadership and organizational structure for the 2016-2017 Tournament of Roses. Ed Morales, a Tournament volunteer since 1992, was elected to the Executive Committee and will serve as the Association’s president in 2024. He will provide leadership for the 135th Rose Parade® and the 110th Rose Bowl Game® on January 1, 2024.

Morales was appointed a Tournament of Roses chairman in 2006 and a director in 2011. He has served on and chaired various committees including Membership, Community Relations, Media Operations, Decorating Places, Post Parade and Queen and Court.

Professionally, Morales is a Partner at the Law Offices of Borton Petrini, LLP. He is a member of the California State Bar, Los Angeles County Bar Association and admitted to practice in United States Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and United States District Court, Central District of California.

In addition to his many years of service with the Tournament of Roses, Morales currently serves as the First Vice-President on the School Board at St. Philips the Apostle School and is the Chair of the Policy & Planning Committee. Previously, Morales served as the 66th President of the Pasadena Jaycees and served on the Jaycee’s Board for four years.

Morales is also a former member of the Board of Directors for Foothill Family Services and Hathaway-Sycamores, both Pasadena based social service agencies. He is also a member of the Pasadena Optimist Club.

Morales is a lifelong resident of the San Gabriel Valley and currently resides in Pasadena. He was raised in the City of San Gabriel and graduated from Don Bosco Technical Institute in Rosemead and received his undergraduate degree in History from UCLA. He earned his Juris Doctorate from Loyola Law School. He and his wife, Lisa, have been married for 18 years and have two children: Elena, 13 and Jessica, 10.

In addition, the following officers were elected to serve with Morales on the 14-member Executive Committee: Lance Tibbet, executive vice president; Gerald K. Freeny, treasurer; Laura Farber, secretary. Mike Matthiessen, president of the 2016 Tournament of Roses, serves as past president.

Re-elected to the Executive Committee as vice presidents are Robert B. Miller, Amy Wainscott and Alex Aghajanian. The five appointed at-large members are Amy Garrity, Karyn Grime, Leo Cablayan, Sonja Rojas and Ron Rodriguez. Ratliff also announced the election of three new members to the Tournament of Roses board of directors: Jay Brown, Craig Washington and Ruth Martinez.